NLAPW awards are established for the purpose of promoting professionalism in Art, Letters, and Music, encouraging talented women to pursue further education or other goals which affect their creative efforts. All are awarded in accordance with specific donor requirements.

Grants & Scholarships General Information

NLAPW Chairwomen

National Art Chair:
Mary Lou Griffin

National Letters Chair:
Nancy Dafoe, Central New York Branch

National Music Chair:
Kathy Pate, Atlanta Branch

The Shirley Holden Helberg Grants for the Mature Women

Application process for 2021 now closed; winners will be notified by Dec. 1.

The National League of American Pen Women, Inc. awards three grants of $1,000 each in art, letters, and music to women 35 years of age or older who are not now nor ever have been a member of NLAPW. Entry period is in early fall of every odd year.

Read about the 2019 grant recipients

The Helen Trueheart Cox Art Scholarship for a Native American Woman (Closed)

Candidates must be female, ages 18 through 25, and a member of a Native American tribe. These grants are awarded every two (2) years for scholarships in art and each is given to a Native American girl who is talented but lacks financial resources to further her education. Funds must be used toward courses at an accredited college, university or trade school. Funds will be mailed to the academic institution to be used by the student.

National Grant: $1,000
Carroll (Mid-Atlantic) Grant: $500 (to be eligible for this grant, the individual must reside in the mid-Atlantic states)