Sheila M ByrnesSheila M. Byrnes


Sheila M. Byrnes has held numerous National positions including first, second, and fifth vice presidents; historian; 2016, 2020, and 2022 Biennial chair; and Letters chair and served as a member of the Finance, Governance, Letters, and Vinnie Ream committees. Since joining the Central New York Branch in 2004, she has served as branch president and New York state president.



Lorna Jean HagstromLorna Jean Hagstrom

1st Vice President

Lorna Jean Hagstrom has served on the National board for the past 10 years and has been chair of the Long Range Planning Committee and a member of the Finance and Budget Committee. She has been a journalist for the Orlando Sentinel and the Daytona Beach News Journal and has written books on genealogy that have been accepted as part of the collection in the Library of Congress.



Nancy Avery Dafoe

2nd Vice President    

Nancy Dafoe is an award-winning writer and English educator living in Central New York. Her business, Dafoe Writing & Consulting, is designed to help others with their writing projects online. She has written novels, short stories, essays, and poetry across genres, as well as won awards for her fiction and poetry. She has served as Central New York Branch president and National Letters chair for two terms.


Mary Patricia Canes

3rd Vice President

Mary Pat Canes is a freelance writer who has written a historical novel about an undervalued queen who pits herself against the English Crown in Ireland. She has served as National recording secretary and fourth vice president, and resides in McLean, Virginia.


head shotJan E. Schaberg

4th Vice President     

Jan Schaberg held the office of Sarasota Branch secretary for two years, has served as state vice president and second vice president, and is currently 2021 Florida State Association Biennial Conference chair. She holds letters and music memberships, is the author of five books, and had a 25-year professional career as an orchestra vocalist.


Grace Joy Reid

5th Vice President     

Grace Joy Reid served as Washington, D.C. Branch treasurer, secretary, vice president, and president from 2009 to 2020. A pianist, composer, and piano teacher, she has organized several musical programs for NLAPW, including music for the 200th Abe Lincoln/Vinnie Ream wreath-laying ceremony at Arlington Cemetery. She attends music production classes to learn how to write music for film and TV.


Evelyn B. Wofford, Ed.D.


Evelyn B. Wofford, EdD, is a career educator holding a doctorate of education in the specialized areas of curriculum and administration, which required numerous courses in leadership, personnel and institutional management, school finance, and school law. She is currently National president, and has served as Mississippi state president and vice president, Delta Branch vice president and president, and National treasurer.


Janie-OwensJanie Owens

Recording Secretary

Janie Owens is currently the National recording secretary and has served as the Daytona Beach Branch president, Florida state secretary and second vice president, and Commemorative Endowment Fund chair. From the time she was in middle school, she wanted to be an author. The dream came true when she published five nonfiction books and two mystery series.


Alice Ann Glenn

Ethics Chair

Alice Ann Glenn, a California Pen Woman since 1982, currently serves as National ethics chair and has served as vice president of the NorCal Branch. She is a retired minister whose 50 years focused on writing and educating. She has served on denominational committees whose responsibility was making decisions on character and individual behavior.