National Letters Chair:

Nancy Dafoe
Central New York Branch

Not a member yet? See How to Join.

2022 Biennial Music Competitions Call for Submissions



General Guidelines

Open to all NLAPW Letters members in good standing. Previous Biennial or Vinnie Ream contest entries not accepted. No books or manuscripts will be returned.

Letters entries must be typed on 8 ½ by 11 white paper. Poetry single-spaced; prose is double-spaced. Use Times New Roman, 12-point font for all entries. No fancy fonts.

Entries are blind judged. Decisions of the independent judges are final. All judges are anonymous.

Submissions must be received between November 1 and December 15, 2021. Entries must be postmarked on or before the deadline to be considered. Entry fees must be paid at the time of submission.

Competition winners will be notified at the end of February 2022, in anticipation of the Biennial in April 2022. Winners will receive awards at the Biennial. If winner is not present, prize award will be sent to the winner sometime after May 1, 2022.

Specific Guidelines

Submit two copies of each entry with two cover sheets, except published books. (Only one published book needs to be submitted.) One cover sheet must have your entry title, category, your name, and contact information. For blind judging, the other cover sheet must have only the title of your work and category (no name).

Place category letter and title of your entry in the upper right-hand corner of the cover sheet on both copies. On the second cover sheet, include name, address, telephone number, email address, submission title, and category in the upper right-hand corner.

Submit only one published book (either traditionally or self-published). No manuscripts will be accepted for the book category. Before submitting any published books, please place a strip of paper over your name wherever it appears on your book, including inside the cover. You may also black out your name (as long as we cannot see it during the judging process).

Entry Fees

  • Poetry: $15 per entry, covering up to two entries. Each entry consists of one to two poems. If you wish to submit more than two poems, you must pay an additional entry fee of $15 for each additional one- to two-poem entry.
  • Article, essay, or short story: $18 per entry. If you wish to submit multiple short stories or essays, you must pay an additional entry fee for each new entry.
  • Books, book excerpts, and long manuscripts (over 15 pages): $25 per entry.

Submit entries and questions to: Nancy A. Dafoe, NLAPW Letters Chair, 1300 17th Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036-1973 via regular mail with your competition payment made payable to NLAPW, or through email as attachments to If sending entry via email, submit entry fee via PayPal below.


A. Marion Doyle Poetry Award. For poets “whose aim is communication; who believe poetry to be a medium of emotional release, of inspiration; that the mission of poetry is to build spiritual morale; to enrich life with perceptions; who have genius of expression, and lack of modern cynicism.” Poems may be any length. 1st: 100; 2nd: $75; 3rd: $50.

B. Marjorie Davies Roller Nonfiction Award. For the best nonfiction article or book (published or unpublished) on any subject. 1st: $100; 2nd: $75; 3rd: $50.

C. Norman E. And Marjorie J. Roller Award. For best article, story, or book (published or unpublished) on wildlife or outdoor life, exclusive of physical contact sports. 1st: $100; 2nd: $50; 3rd: $25.

D. Anita Marie Boggs Memorial Poetry Award. For a poem written in free verse (any length). 1st: $100; 2nd: $50; 3rd: $30.

E. Della Crowder Miller Poetry Award. Established August 18, 1978. Awards for two categories:

  • Petrarchan sonnets. 1st: $100; 2nd: $50; 3rd: $30.
  • Free verse (any length): 1st: $100; 2nd: $50; 3rd: $30.

F. Catherine Cushman Leach Poetry Award. Established September 19, 1978. For a poem of merit, published or unpublished. The poem may be on any subject and in any verse form except free verse. 1st: $100; 2nd: $50; 3rd: $30.

G. Elizabeth M. Campbell Poetry Award. For a poem written in traditional form. 1st: $100; 2nd: $50.

H. Helen Sutton Booth National Memorial Poetry Award. For any traditional form of poetry of any length. Established October 11, 1986. 1st: $100; 2nd: $75; 3rd: $50.

I. The Anne Marx Sestina Award. Established April 9, 1998. For a poem in sestina form on the subject of immigration and/or cultural exchange. The award shall be in the amount of $250.

J. Central New York Branch Flannery O’Connor Short Story Award. For an unpublished short story of 7,000 words or less on any subject, honoring the irony of O’Connor’s writing. 1st: $100; 2nd: $70; 3rd: $30.

K. Delta Branch Grace K. Wofford Essay Award. For an unpublished essay on any subject. 1st: $100; 2nd: $ $70; 3rd: $30.

L. Memoir Award. For a published or unpublished memoir excerpt of up to 20,000 words. 1st: $100; 2nd: $70; 3rd: $30.

M. Sandra Seaton Michel Children’s Book or Story Award. For a children’s book or story (published or unpublished). 1st: $100; 2nd: $70; 3rd: $30.

N. Sandra Seaton Michel Middle School Story Award. For a book or short story (published or unpublished) age-appropriate for a middle school child. 1st: $100; 2nd: $70; 3rd: $30.

O. Fiction Book Award. For an unpublished manuscript or published book of fiction in any subgenre. 1st prize only: $200.

P. Anna Di Bella Poetry Award. For an unpublished poem in free verse, 48 lines or less. 1st: $100; 2nd; $75; 3rd: $50.

Q. Evelyn B. Wofford Journalism Award. For an unpublished article or feature story of high journalistic merit. 1st: $100; 2nd: $70; 3rd: $30.




Select entry type
Entrant’s name