2016 Biennial Music Awards


Elaine Erickson accepting 2016 Natl Music award from Laura Walth

Elaine Erickson accepting 2016 National Music award from Laura Walth, NLAPW Outreach Chair

1st place: Elaine Erickson, Des Moines Branch
“December Celebration” (flute and piano)

2nd place: Eugénie Rocherolle, Member-at-Large, Connecticut
“Jambalaya” (two pianos/four hands)

3rd place: Dr. Alice Moerk , Sarasota Branch, Florida
“The Wheel of Life”


2016 Biennial Music Performances took place at the beautiful First Baptist Church in Washington D.C.

The music members program was a brilliant showcase of talent. Lawrence Schreiber performed an organ recital.


Performance by Virginia Campbell, Sarah Rickman and Brenda Speer

Compositions by Pen Women Evelyn Swensson, Linda Nash, Grace Reid, Vinnie Ream winner Nancy Bloomer Deussen, and President-Elect Virginia Franklin Campbell were inspiring.

Virginia Franklin Campbell performed a moving tribute when she played her piano composition, as Sarah Byrn Rickman read Virginia’s haunting Normandy poem, “Surely God is in This Place,” and Brenda L. Speer played taps on the French horn in the background.

It was a delight to hear and watch Judy Bingman play her alto sax in the First Baptist Church and hear Letters member Katie Witek sing “A Walk With the Clouds.”

Judy Bingman BI4A0571

Judy Bingman

(Photos by Judy Bingman)