NLAPW Election of Officers


Join the National League of American Pen Women Inc. Team!

National officers are elected by the membership in even-numbered years, and the 2018 election will soon be underway. The elected offices of the League are President, First, Second, Third, Fourth and Fifth Vice-Presidents, Recording Secretary, Treasurer, and Ethics Chair.

The nominating committee will be accepting candidate applications from September 1, 2017 to October 1, 2017. Application and instructions for completion and submission of Candidate Application: NLAPW Officer Candidate Application.

A candidate should be willing to serve if elected, attend the annual meeting and the Biennial Business Meeting of the membership, and at least three other regular meetings of the National Executive Board. She should perform the duties of the office in accordance with the provisions in the NLAPW bylaws, standing rules, and procedural manuals. She should take responsibility for the management and control of the business funds and property of the League in an ethical and professional manner.

Nominees for the offices of national president and first vice president shall have been Active Members in good standing (dues current and no disciplinary charges pending) for the past five years, and have served on the Board of Directors in elected offices for two terms, or one term in an elected office and two terms as a Standing Committee chair.

Nominees for other national offices shall have been Active Members in good standing (dues current and no disciplinary charges pending) for the past three years.

Qualification of applicants shall be assessed by the Nominating Committee on the basis of information submitted by the applicant, the duties of the office as stated in the bylaws, and interviews with the applicant or her colleagues.

For additional information please contact Nominating Committee Chair, Dr. M.J. (Sunny) Zank,

Current Officers (2016-2018):

Virginia Franklin Campbell

First Vice-President
Lorna Jean Hagstrom

Second Vice-President
Sheila M. Byrnes

Third Vice-President
Maureen Stack Sappéy

Fourth Vice-Presdent
Ronni Miller

Fifth Vice-President
Jane Maclean

Recording Secretary
Mary Pat Canes

Evelyn B. Wofford