Writing Competitions

Please check back. New writing competitions are in the works.

National Letters Chair:
Dr. Evelyn Bethune, Daytona Beach FL Branch
Email: lettchair@nlapw.org

Example: 2016 Biennial Letters Competition (closed)

Biennial competitions are only open to members. Not a member yet? See How to Join.

General Guidelines

All contests open to all Letters members.
Materials entered in previous Biennial contests will not be accepted.
No books or manuscripts will be returned.
Entries must be typed on 8½ by 11″ white paper.
Prose should be double-spaced.
Poetry should be single-spaced with double spacing between stanzas.
The decisions of the judges are final.
Winners will receive awards at the Biennial. If winners are not present at the Biennial, prize monies will be sent to the winners after May 1, 2016.
Winners will be notified in early April prior to the Biennial.
Entries will be accepted beginning November prior to the Biennial.

Specifics: Poetry & Prose

Submit two copies of each entry; submit only one copy of a published book (either self-or traditionally published). No book manuscripts will be accepted.
Place category number and title of each entry in the upper right-hand corner of the cover sheet on both copies.
On one copy include name, address, telephone number, and e-mail address in the upper right-hand corner.

Entry Fees

Poetry: $10 per entry.
Article or Story: $15 per entry.
Books (hard or softcover): $25 per entry.


A. MARION DOYLE POETRY AWARD. For “poets whose aim is communication; who believe poetry to be a medium of emotional release, of inspiration; that the mission of poetry is to build spiritual morale; to enrich life with perceptions, who have genius of expression and lack modern cynicism; 1st-place: $100; 2nd place: $75; 3rd Place: $50.
B. MARJORIE DAVIES ROLLER NON-FICTION AWARD. For best non-fiction article or book on any subject. 1st-place: $100; 2nd-place: $75; 3rd-place: $50.
C. NORMAN E. AND MARJORIE J. ROLLER AWARD. For best article, story, or book on wildlife or outdoor life, exclusive of physical contact sports. 1st-place: $100; 2nd-place: $75; 3rd-place: $50.
D. ANITA MARIE BOGGS MEMORIAL POETRY AWARD. For a poem written in Free Verse. 1st-place: $100; 2nd-place: $50; 3rd place $30.
E. DELLA CROWDER MILLER POETRY AWARD. Established August 18, 1978. Awards for two categories:
1. Petrarchan Sonnets. 1st-place: $100; 2nd-place: $50; 3rd-place: $30.
2. Free Verse. 1st-place: $100; 2nd-place: $50; 3rd-place: $30.
F. CATHERINE CUSHMAN LEACH POETRY AWARD. Established September 19, 1978. For a poem of merit, published or unpublished. The poem may be on any subject and in any verse with the exception of free verse. 1st place: $100; 2nd place: $50; 3rd-place: $30.
G. ELIZABETH M. CAMPBELL POETRY AWARD. For a poem written in Traditional Form. 1st place: $100; 2nd-place: $50.
H. HELEN SUTTON BOOTH NATIONAL MEMORIAL POETRY AWARD. For any traditional form of poetry of any length. Established October 11, 1986. 1st place: $100; 2nd place: $75; 3rd place: $50.
I. THE ANNE MARX SESTINA AWARD. Established April 9, 1998. For a poem in sestina form on the subject of immigration and/or cultural exchange. The award shall be in the amount of $250.
J. DAYTONA BRANCH SHORT FICTION AWARD. For a story of ten or fewer pages. 1st place: $100; 2nd-place: $60; 3rd place: $40.
K. THE EUDORA WELTY MEMORIAL AWARD. For a book of adult or young adult fiction on any subject suitable for general audiences. 1st-place: $100; 2nd-place: $50; 3rd-place: $35.
a personal essay or memoir book excerpt (30 pages max.) 1st-place: $100;
2nd-place: $60; 3rd-place: $40.
M. JOURNALISM AWARD. For a non-fiction magazine or newspaper article. 1st-place: $75; 2nd-place: $50.
N. CHILDREN’S BOOK AWARD. 1st-place $75; 2nd-place: $50.