Music Competitions


Announcing the 2018 Biennial Music Competition

Celebrating 120 years of the National League of American Pen Women

with Creative Music by Pen Women.

This is for all Music members: Active, Allied, and Associate.

Details will be announced soon.

Contact Sunny Zank, National Music Chair,


Not a member yet? See How to Join.


Reference: 2016 Biennial Music Competition Rules

Music submitted must be:

1. Original. By the composer submitting it;
2. written by a NLAPW member;
3. between 3 and 15 minutes in length;
4. may be orchestral, vocal, electronic, small ensemble, choral and/or solo instrument;
5. accompanied by a $50 fee per entry;
6. must include 2 scores of the music and 2 CDs of its performance. One copy should list name of music and
composer. One copy should list only name of music.

Send a SASE if requesting return of your materials. Winners awards are $1,000 1st place; $500 2nd place;
$250 3rd place. Winners are announced at the Biennial Music Luncheon on Saturday, April 30. Good Luck, All!

Note: Previous First Prize Winner of the Award must recuse herself from new competitions.