Member References and Resources


NLAPW Biennial Elections and Amendment Proposals

Election Process (also see NLAPW Bylaws): 

The NLAPW Nominating Committee members are elected by the Board of Directors to be representatives of all Pen Women. It is the responsibility of the Nominating Committee to select the best candidates to serve as leaders of this esteemed organization from members who self-nominate for positions that they believe they can fill. After a thorough and thoughtful process, the committee presents a highly-qualified slate that will lead the National League of American Pen Women to increased membership, financial stability and harmony.

Candidates willingly volunteer their time and talent for a two-year term of office. They are aware that they must attend (usually in Washington D.C.) at least three Board of Director meetings that are held in the Pen Arts Building and Arts Museum.

Each candidate is evaluated in five categories: Qualifications, National Experience, Branch Experience, Diplomatic Skills, and Technical Skills. Typically the Nominating Committee has produced a single slate for the Board of Directors. The published ballot leaves a space for write-in candidates.

“Applicants not selected for the official slate, or other candidates wishing to run as write-in candidates, must send their application and credentials before a previously specified date.  Send US Postal Service Certified Mail to:   Chair, Elections Committee, NLAPW, Inc., 1300 17th Street, NW, Washington, DC 20036-1973.”

Once a slate is filled, the results are sent to the Election Committee chair. This committee will put everything together for the Pen Woman magazine and the membership.

Submitted by Nominating Committee Chair, Dr. M.J. (Sunny) Zank.

Amendments to Bylaws: Proposals

Please see an explanation of the process for proposing amendments: About Bylaws.
Proposal form: Amendment Proposal Template

2018-2020 NLAPW Newly Elected Officers

(Click here for profiles):

Evelyn B. Wofford, Ed.D.
Candidate for President

Sheila M. Byrnes
Candidate for 1st Vice President

Lorna Jean Hagstrom
Candidate for 2nd Vice President

Bev Goldie
Candidate for 3rd Vice President

Robin Johnson Moscati
Candidate for 4th Vice President

Laura Walth
Candidate for 5th Vice President

Mary Patricia Canes
Candidate for Recording Secretary

Barbara Nunes
Candidate for Treasurer

Marge Dodge
Candidate for Ethics Chair


Know all about your membership benefits!

Promotional materials:

Member insignia pins

NLAPW Brochures

NLAPW Badge graphics

Show your Pen Woman pride…

with a beautiful NLAPW gold-filled charm or insignia. A variety of sizes and designs are available, exclusively to Pen Women, through Hamilton Jewelers. Order yours here: Hamilton Jewelers.


NLAPW disc charm

NLAPW Branch President insignia