2018 Biennial Letters Competition

National Letters Chair

Email: lettchair@nlapw.org

Not a member yet? See How to Join.

2018 Biennial Letters Competitions
(Now closed)



Open to all letters members. Previous Biennial contest entries not accepted. No books or manuscripts will be returned.

Entries must be typed on 8.5-by-11 white paper.  Prose should be double-spaced. Poetry should be single-spaced with double spacing between stanzas.

Decisions of the judges are final.

Winners will receive awards at the Biennial. If winners are not present at the Biennial, prize monies will be sent  after May 1, 2018. Winners notified in late March 2018.

Entries accepted beginning Nov. 10, 2017. Postmark deadline is January 31, 2018.


Poetry and prose: Submit two copies of each entry; only one copy of a published book (either self- or traditionally published). No book manuscripts will be accepted.

Place category number and title of each entry in the upper right-hand corner of the cover sheet on both copies.

On one copy include name, address, telephone number, and email address in the upper right-hand corner.

Entry fees (per entry): poetry: $10; article or story: $15; books (hard or soft cover): $25.


A. MARION DOYLE POETRY AWARD. For “poets whose aim is communication; who believe poetry to be a medium of emotional release, of inspiration; that the mission of poetry is to build spiritual morale; to enrich life with perceptions, who have genius of expression and lack modern cynicism”; 1st: $100; 2nd: $75; 3rd: $50.

B. MARJORIE DAVIES ROLLER NONFICTION AWARD. For best nonfiction article or book on any subject. 1st: $100; 2nd: $75; 3rd: $50. Proof of publication, please.

C. NORMAN E. AND MARJORIE J. ROLLER AWARD. For best article, story, or book on wildlife or outdoor life, exclusive of physical contact sports. 1st: $100; 2nd: $75; 3rd: $50. Proof of publication, please.

D. ANITA MARIE BOGGS MEMORIAL POETRY AWARD. For a poem written in free verse. 1st: $100; 2nd: $50; 3rd: $30. Published or unpublished.

E. DELLA CROWDER MILLER POETRY AWARD. Established Aug. 18, 1978. Submissions may be published or unpublished. Awards for two categories: Petrarchan Sonnets and Free Verse. 1st: $100; 2nd: $50; 3rd: $30.

F. CATHERINE CUSHMAN LEACH POETRY AWARD. Established Sept. 19, 1978. For a poem of merit, published or unpublished. The poem may be on any subject and in any verse with the exception of free verse. 1st: $100; 2nd: $50; 3rd: $30.

G. ELIZABETH M. CAMPBELL POETRY AWARD. For a poem written in traditional form. 1st: $100; 2nd: $50. Published or unpublished.

H. HELEN SUTTON BOOTH NATIONAL MEMORIAL POETRY AWARD. For any traditional form of poetry of any length. Established Oct. 11, 1986. 1st: $100; 2nd: $75; 3rd: $50. Published or unpublished.

I. THE ANNE MARX SESTINA AWARD. Established April 9, 1998. For a poem in sestina form on the subject of immigration and/or cultural exchange. The award shall be in the amount of $250. Proof of submission for publication.

J. DAYTONA BRANCH SHORT FICTION AWARD. For a story of 10 or fewer pages. 1st: $100; 2nd: $60; 3rd: $40. Published or unpublished.

More categories may be added to the contest. Watch the NLAPW website and the next issue of The Pen Woman for updates.